March 17th through March 24th


Really, not much happened this week. I had a bunch of other menial tasks that got in the way and well, I didn’t feel like doing any work. I was lazy and took a mini vacation. This was nice but it won’t happen again this week.

The biggest bit of progress happened with my short story critique. The value of attending and participating in a local writing group of this caliber presented itself  in the form of a lot of great advice about my work. They pointed out the weak parts and the flaws and what they liked or didn’t like and ALL of that information is valuable.

For instance: they pointed out that my main character was unsympathetic. I had no idea, but they’re right. There is something in the end that I didn’t bolster enough to make it obvious and rather than the character coming off one way, people interpreted her actions completely different.

I went in knowing that my work was only in a 1st edit phase so work would need to be done. But there were somethings pointed out that could really help to bring this piece to a higher level. Over the next week I will be incorporating some of the edits then getting it into a final version. Then it’s just a final edit before I send it out for publication (hopefully).

Another big thing that happened this week was that we’re working on buying a house right now so we’re talking about what to do about decorations, furniture, etc. I was so focused on the furniture aspect that I hadn’t considered the painting. But now I have. It looks like I’m going to be doing a few full sized murals pretty soon. I have to say, this is the first time in a couple of years that I’ve been excited about painting again. I’ll post some pictures periodically over the next few months.

That’s all I have for now, folks. Enjoy your week!

Kierce

Thanks for stopping by. Let me know what you think!

