March 31st through April 13th


Looks like I missed logging in my misbehavior last week so I’ll do a double post this week. So, not much has been going on, I have to admit. I’ve been editing for the most part and as I look back, this will be the fourth…yes 4th… week of no word count (aside from blog posts). I’m trying not to be disturbed about it since I’ve been occupying my time in other ways. And, I have to realize that breaks are not only necessary  but unavoidable at times. In the next month or so my schedule will be even less writing time conducive with preparing for a move and various art projects. So I’ll do what I can and get back to a regular writing schedule as soon as possible.

Since I can’t report on progress in writing projects, why don’t I talk about some of the highlights of the non-writing things going on.
I finished watching a Korean historical drama called Jumong.

Jumong

Worth every minute of the 81+/- hours it took to watch it. That’s right, it’s 81, sixty-minute episodes. Some are slightly shorter, some slightly longer. I think I’ve met my television watching quota for an entire year. Jumong is a Korean television show that ran between 2006 and 2007 that is based on myths of King Dongmyeong of Goguryeo. The show takes the myths surrounding King Dongmyeong’s life and puts them into a feasible historical context. The show is extremely well done with great settings, costuming, and very talented actors. The characters stories are very compelling and the chemistry between the actors is better than anything I’ve seen from popular western actors in longer than I care to admit.

Refreshingly enough this is a very family friendly show (aside from the violence – which is not nearly as graphic as some of the cartoons I’ve seen on air for kids these days). By family friendly, I mean…there’s not even any kissing. The closest contact anyone has in this show is hand holding and hugging. But even with that there is no doubt the extent of love between the characters.

From a writing perspective, this show has a lot to say. The characters and their back stories are believable (especially if you read up on a little Korean history) and their character arcs are well done. There’s a cliff hanger at the end of each episode and tension is kept up appropriately. As you watch the show you’re compelled to cheer for the good guys and condemn the bad guys, mourn the loss of characters, and hold your breath hoping that everything works out. One thing that really struck me about this show is the strategies they employed – Someone had a very strong working knowledge of the warfare of the day.

That being said, there were major plot holes and people or items that were introduced but never used. They weren’t enough to detract from the series on whole but what this show had in strategies it lacked in plot contiguity. For instance, a character who is critically injured (e.g. sword wound to the midsection) cannot get up, move around, and lift heavy objects above their heads in a few days, especially without reopening the wound.

This is a really great show, and I really recommend it. And if you’re super loyal to Japanese dramas you should check out Korean dramas because, well….many Japanese dramas are filmed in Korea and then dubbed over for Japanese audiences.

That’s been the biggest chunk of my non-writing time lately. The rest of my time has been filled with editing, drawing, and taking walks in the beautiful spring weather.

Well, that’s all I have for now. Until next time,

Kierce

 

Thanks for stopping by. Let me know what you think!

