New Year and Figuring Stuff Out


I suppose this is my new year’s post, the one everyone writes to make a resolution to be better at something. Please forgive me, I’m sure you’re seeing a lot of these lately. Have you done it? Made a resolution? I bet you have. Even if you had, say like me, planned to make no resolution at all, you still made one. Resolving not to make a resolution is still a resolution.

The plan was, not to make a resolution because, well, I can never stick with them. Lose weight? Nope! Eat healthier? For a time, but then when stress or illness comes along that goes out the window. Write more? Sure, but never the amount that I plan. Publish more? That ties in with the last one, doesn’t it? I’m not really great at sticking to things 365 days a year.

But, you know what, I can’t say I’ve failed. I might not have written as much as I wanted to last year, but I wrote more than the previous year – Win! I might not have published work as much as I wanted to, but I definitely published more than the previous year – Win! I continue to work and grow with my writing and I understand more now than I ever had before, and I’m enjoying myself. My writing has improved and I’ve been getting a lot of positive feedback on my stories.

So maybe this year I resolve to just be more consistent. Taking smaller bites of the apple more regularly will likely be better than the fits and starts I usually do. I’ll let you know next year how this plan work s out.

In other news, and on other fronts, while I’ve scaled back with my involvement with my local writing group, at least physically, I’m still keeping up in other ways. Life doesn’t always work out as planned and that’s okay. You know what they say about doors closing and opening. I’m happy to say that I provided some help with the new website Charlotte Writers Group launched in the last couple of weeks.  Nico Serene did a great job pulling it all together and the site looks wonderful thanks in large part to her efforts. Check it out! It’s focused on helping members both local and not.

I had the pleasure of writing the first post aside from the welcome note. It’s a short write up about creating characters. Take a look if you’re interested. There will be regular posts from the membership each week and writing prompts so drop by from time to time or subscribe for updates.

There have been a lot of good books that crossed my desk in the last year so I’ll likely resume my review posts soon. I’ve been reading a lot of Neil Gaiman lately. If you haven’t read his work… OMG, you’re missing out!

In other news, I’m working on a new website that will allow me better freedom with posting. Announcements to come. A short story of mine, Autonomous Trafficking, was published in November by Dark Hall Press in their Techno Horror Anthology. I’m working on a novel length story that I hope to finish by the end of the year (if I set a goal for sooner than that I’ll most likely sabotage myself and then spend the rest of the year sulking about it, so a year it is).

There are, of course, a dozen other things I’m working on at the same time. Heaven forbid if I keep things simple and focus on one thing at a time. Life is too short to waste.

À bientôt! Until next time.

Thanks for stopping by. Let me know what you think!

